Get this!

gethere getamoveon deadoralive3 therain

Titles of five songs from my iTunes that start with “Get” and, when taken in order, could be chronicling a booty call:

(Note: Not all images go with actual songs. You’ll see, after the jump.)

Get Here” by Oleta Adams.

Get a Move On” by Mr. Scruff.

Get Ur Freak On” by Missy Elliot. That moment with “Who’s that chick?” always makes me laugh. I always liked her stuff, starting with “The Rain,” with her in that weird inflatable jacket.

Get Me Off” by Basement Jaxx. Yeah, pretty much what you think it’s about. “I wanna undress you / I wanna caress you / No time to be coy / It’s time to get me off.” What a forward little minx!

“Get Out of My House” by Dead or Alive. No wonder my parents thought I was weird: On weekends I would get home from work and head to the basement to watch “Night Flight,” the late-night USA Network program that featured cult movies and music videos. It was the first place I saw “Close (To The Edit)” by Art of Noise, which pretty much set the tone for the show. Anyway, one night the theme for the videos was artists who messed with gender-appearance norms. Included: “Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)” by Eurythmics; “Fast Car” by Tracy Chapman; and “You Spin Me Round” by Dead or Alive. This is the one night my mom decided to join me watching TV in an attempt to bond. “So, that’s a boy?” “No, that’s a girl.” “So, that’s a girl?” “No, that one’s a boy.” She never tried to watch “Night Flight” with me again.

And two titles that start with “Get” that would imply your booty call is not necessarily going along best-case-scenario lines:

Get Off of My Cloud” by The Rolling Stones
Get The Message” by Electronic

WHAT SAM WORE: 11-11-09
I’m going to wear the same pants all week, unless I spill something on them,
and see how long it takes someone at work to say something.
The shirt: Short-sleeved sweater (with an incredibly itchy tag)
by Kenneth Cole, from Last Chance.
The pants: Same jeans as yesterday.
The shoes: Snakeskin loafers by Taxto, from Last Chance.
(Inspired by watching Alexander McQueen’s
freaky/awesome Spring/Summer 2010 runway show)
The scent: Odeur 53 by Comme des Garçons
Leave a Reply

