iTuned In: Oh, baby!

Five songs in my iTunes library that start with the word “Baby”:

1. “Baby Mine,” Bonnie Raitt and Was (Not Was). Another track from “Stay Awake,” a compilation of artists covering Disney songs. Out of the selected five, this is the only song directed to an actual baby — a baby elephant in this case (the song appeared in “Dumbo,” if you haven’t heard it before).

2. “Baby, Now That I’ve Found You,” Allison Krauss. For some reason, most of my early Allison Krauss songs are the cover versions — “When You Say Nothing At All” (originally by Keith Whitley) and this, for example. I also have her version of “Baby Mine.”

3. “Baby Let Me Kiss You,” Fern Kinney. This song originally was going on this year’s holiday disc, but I found the 4-minute version on a DJ-style disc that blends one song into the next, so the track ends really abruptly. The other version I could find was 8 minutes long, and I don’t believe anyone but me would truly enjoy that much hypno-disco action. So I replaced it with “Together We Are Beautiful” by the same artist. (P.S.: While writing this, I rediscovered “Get Up And Boogie,” which just went on my wish list.)

4. “Baby, It’s You,” Smith. Truthfully, I have no idea why I have this song. It was on a compilation disc called “Rockin’ Sixties” I picked up at a used-CD store because it also had “Feeling Alright” by Joe Cocker and “Gloria” by Shadows of Knight. I’m glad I decided to burn it before I sold off my discs in the Big Purge of 2008, though.

5. “Baby I’m a Star,” Prince and The Revolution. I still remember my friend Tracy Noel talking in awe about a bar band she saw back when we were in college in Montana: “They played the whole second side to the ‘Purple Rain’ soundtrack.” I still feel pretty much that way about this whole album, which iTunes refers to as “a stone cold masterpiece” and “a machine-tooled triumph that deserves to be ranked amongst the finest pop albums of the twentieth century.” (Hear, hear! Now listen to the whole thing, and go out and dance!)

WHAT SAM WORE: 12-20-09
The shirt: Short-sleeved T-shirt from Gap,
under a heavyweight zip-up hoodie from Lacoste.
The pants: Fleece workout pants by Puma, from Last Chance.
The shoes: Gel-Oberon sneakers by Asics, from Sports Authority.
The scent: Original Musk lotion by Kiehl’s.
One response to “iTuned In: Oh, baby!

  1. I was sure this list was going to include “Baby Did a Bad Bad Thing.”

Leave a Reply

