iTuned In: One-a-Day (plus irony)

Seven tracks from my iTunes library that each contain the name of a different day of the week in their titles.

Blue Monday,” Flunk. There are several covers of the New Order track, but I think the mood of this one most accurate portrays the way most of us feel about crawling out of bed after a weekend and heading in to work.

Ruby Tuesday,” The Rolling Stones. Not my favorite track by the Stones. I imagine that I bought it because it’s one of those “you know, you should really have that song” type of things. Or maybe it was already on the compilation disc I bought, and I didn’t not like it enough to to import it.

Big Wednesday,” Freeland. Confession: I don’t actually own this song. When I realized I don’t have any tracks that contain “Wednesday” in their title, I went searching until I found the one that I would be most likely to download, if I had to pick one.

Thursday,” Asobi Seksu. And yet for some reason, I had this. At times like this I wish I hadn’t messed up the transfer of my iTunes library to an external hard drive, so I could at least see what else I bought in the same batch. Usually that explains a lot — I’ll get all moody stuff, or all jangle-pop, or classics.

Friday I’m In Love,” The Cure. This song: The Cure :: “Ruby Tuesday” : The Rolling Stones (above).

Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting,” Elton John. The copy editor in me automatically typed it in as “All Right” instead of “Alright.” But the true copy editor in me looked at that and said, “Wait — is that right?”

Drinkin’ in My Sunday Dress,” Susan Haynes. It’s a cover of a song by Maria McKee (whom I only really remember as singer of Lone Justice, and even then only for the song “Shelter”).

WHAT SAM WORE: 01-25-10
I’m going to wear a tie every day this week.
Today I tried a half-Windsor knot for the first time:
It took two tries but a photo of the result is here.
The sweater: Extra-fine merino wool V-neck vest from Uniqlo, New York.
The shirt: Cotton/spandex snap-collar dress shirt from Banana Republic.
The tie: By Gant. It’s my second-oldest tie!
The pants: Boot-cut trousers from Banana Republic.
The shoes: Suede dress sneakers from bananarepublic.com.
2 responses to “iTuned In: One-a-Day (plus irony)

  1. “Rainy Days and Mondays,” The Carpenters
    “Ruby Tuesday,” The Rolling Stones
    “Wednesday,” Drive-By Truckers
    “Thursday,” Jim Croce
    “Friday,” Bowling for Soup
    “Saturday Night,” Bay City Rollers
    “Sunday Morning Coming Down,” Kris Kristofferson

Leave a Reply

