iTuned In: City soundscapes

Inspired by the news that Phoenix would be performing at Coachella, I had this great idea to do an iTuned In about groups that had city names in their names. I figured that since Phoenix, Boston and Chicago came to mind, it wouldn’t be hard to come up with two more.

It turns out I don’t have a single song from either Boston or Chicago on my iTunes. (Or Nashville, for country music fans.) I can’t say that’s alarming by any means, but I would have guessed that at some point or another I would have uploaded at least something like “More Than a Feeling” from some compilation disc. Apparently not.

Which means we’ll go a bit more international to fill our ration.

1. “That Beep,” Architecture in Helsinki.

2. “Une Very Stylish Fille,” Dimitri From Paris. The samples are from “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”: “How do I look?” is Audrey Hepburn; “Very good / I must say I’m amazed” is George Peppard; and “I am a very stylish girl” is Patricia Neal (whom I always sort of rooted for in this movie). This always makes me think of my former editrix, Amanda Kingsbury.

3. “He Lays in the Reins,” Calexico and Iron & Wine. (Calexico: “Your Strategic Border Site.”

4. “My Baby Loves Love,” White Plains. Famous people who’ve lived in White Plains, N.Y.: Alan Alda, Danger Mouse, Captain Lou Albano, J.C. Penney.

5. “Just Because It’s Different Doesn’t Mean It’s Scary,” I’m From Barcelona. Another track from “Yo Gabba Gabba! Music is Awesome.”

WHAT SAM WORE: 02-15-10
The shirt: Button-collar dress shirt by Burberry, from Last Chance.
The tie: Knit silk from J. Crew — on loan from my friend James.
The pants: Khakis from Banana Republic.
The shoes: Suede sneakers from Banana Republic.
One response to “iTuned In: City soundscapes

  1. No “Rocky” by Austin Roberts??? Your iTunes disappoint me!

    The rest of my top 10 (excluding Chicago and Boston songs):

    2. “The Happiest Girl in the Whole USA,” Donna Fargo (of course)

    3. “Take My Breath Away,” Berlin

    4. “Coin-Operated Boy,” Dresden Dolls

    5. “Son of a Preacher Man,” Dusty Springfield

    6. “Smokin’ in the Boys Room,” Brownsville Station

    7. “For What’s It’s Worth,” Buffalo Springfield (double score!)

    8. “Rocky Mountain High,” John Denver

    9. “Jessie’s Girl,” Rick Springfield

    10. “Relax,” Frankie Goes to Hollywood

Leave a Reply

