What’s for dinner: Orecchiette with Bacon and Tomato Sauce

It was bound to happen. After one night of baked fish and mushrooms and another night of roast chicken and wilted greens, I realized at work today that I was really looking forward to pasta tonight. Like, at random trying moments in the day, that’s what I pulled reserve strength from.

By the way, last night’s dinner is delicious when reheated in the microwave for lunch. The greens get even wiltier and potent, and the salt and vinegar sauce is even more tangy. Just as an FYI.

Cost of ingredients: $8.04 for a red onion, some garlic, a can of whole peeled tomatoes, some pasta and Parmesan cheese (which was $3.50 of the total). I already had olive oil, (turkey) bacon, red pepper flakes, salt and pepper.

Substitutions: I used non-extra-virgin olive oil for cooking the bacon, and I made Mr. Brooks buy his own damn gluten-free pasta.

As easy as they said? I love dinners like this — a big pan to simmer, a pot to boil, and you can wash everything before you even sit down to eat.

How’d THAT go over? Tasty. I was happy serving it up. Next time I might go a bit lighter on the red pepper flakes — I went crazy this time around, and while it wasn’t “oh my God my mouth is on fire” it certainly was “hey, something’s going on here.” It detracted a bit from the delicious bacony flavor.

Would I make it again? Oh, yes. Easy to make, easy cleanup, easy to eat … win/win/win.

WHAT SAM WORE: 02-17-10
The shirt: Long-sleeved “Devo” shirt by Dragonfly, a hand-me-down from Mr. Brooks (who, in turn, got it at Last Chance). Today I put it on and thought, “I don’t like this shirt enough to keep it. After today, I’m selling it to Buffalo Exchange.” But several people at work have said it’s their “favorite shirt,” so I might have to rethink that.
The pants: Classic fit, Harper wash jeans by Joe’s Jeans, from Nordstrom.
The shoes: Zip-up suede boots on clearance from Martin + Osa.
Leave a Reply

