A day with nothing to do

“Did you watch the Olympics last night?”

It was meant as an innocuous question, an ice-breaker at what could have been an uncomfortable work-related lunch, but it got me thinking — mainly because I haven’t watched one moment of Olympics coverage since the Vancouver games began.

Here’s what I’ve done every day for the past week: Got up. Went to work. Came home. Cooked dinner. Cleaned up. Blogged about the meal. Went to the gym. Logged onto Facebook to play Scrabble. Went to bed.

The routine is the result of a few discoveries and resolutions:

  • I’m saving money not only to pay my tax bill, but also because my car lease is up in three months and I’ll need a down payment.
  • I’ve rededicated myself to putting on muscle and not being so lanky. (I am using this book, which was written by my friend and former boss, Mike Berg, as my reference).
  • I’m trying to eat better, and even gave up soda for Lent. (Both parts also contribute to that first bullet point, too.)

I’m still tweaking the routine, though. I’d like to add some cardio in the morning with my friend Funny Michael, but the 5 a.m. wakeup time is proving to be too much of a barrier. I’d like to figure out how much sleep I really need, because my default position is “as much as possible” but that leaves precious little time to .. well, to do nothing.

So last night, I decided to take a break. I cooked dinner, yes, but after the dishes were done I didn’t rush to the laptop and start recapping. I didn’t go to the gym.

I gave my body and my brain what they needed: a night off. I soaked in a hot tub. I reread a book of humorous essays by Fran Lebowitz (which always makes me wish she were my neighbor, so we would spend lots of time not hanging out with each other, but occasionally running into each other and making trenchant remarks about our other neighbors).

And today I didn’t go to work. (Don’t worry, I cleared it first.) I had oatmeal and bacon for breakfast, I went back to bed, I caught up on phone calls.  It’s now 12:30 p.m. and I still have yet to put in my contacts or make it through the shower. It’s a little cloudy but still sunny enough, it’ll be in the high 70s by day’s end, and it’s the perfect day for me to wander off and do absolutely nothing. Maybe I’ll hike Camelback. Maybe I’ll splurge on the $2.50 two-slice special at Barro’s Pizza (but I doubt it — see bullet point #3 above). Maybe I’ll watch some Olympics.

Today, there is no timetable, no syllabus, no deadline, no to-do list. That makes some of my friends uncomfortable: They need to accomplish, to achieve, to check things off as “done.” Their sense of purpose is measured by what they have achieved.  For me, today is measured by what I didn’t achieve — and that’s something. Or nothing.

WHAT SAM WORE: 02-19-10
The sweatshirt: Zip-up hoodie, on sale at Old Navy.
The shirt: University of Montana T-shirt, from Gart Bros. in Billings.
The pants: Yoga pants by Perfetto, a hand-me-down from my ex-boyfriend.
The shoes: Customized Converse All-Star slip-ons,
a birthday present from Funny Michael.
Leave a Reply

