What’s for dinner: Pasta and Cheese Frittata

At no point have I ever looked at leftover pasta in tomato sauce and thought: “I should add some raw eggs to that.”

But that’s exactly what I did for tonight’s dinner, which starts with three cups of reserved pasta from a previous night, repackages it with three eggs and some ricotta and Parmesan cheese, and slaps it all in a pan for stovetop and oven cooking.

Cost of ingredients: $3.98 for the eggs and ricotta cheese. I already had olive oil and salt and pepper, and the Parmesan was left over from the same night I cooked the pasta.

Substitutions: Again, regular olive oil instead of extra-virgin, which I save for recipes where the fresh flavor really matters. And also, because I suspected this would be a little bland, I pulled out the garlic mayo I made for the Spanish Tortilla, to season it.

As easy as they said? Yup. I am not sure that it needed the additional step of the broiler, though. Thanks to the aforementioned Spanish tortilla recipe, I’ve learned how to double-flip items such as frittatas so you can put them back in the same pan, upside-down and finish cooking that way.

How’d THAT go over? Eh. Mr. Brooks liked the fact it wasn’t “leftovers” in the traditional sense, but thought it needed more salt and pepper. So I’m glad I had that garlic mayo left over. I was not impressed at all. Plus, this wasn’t very filling: Mr. Brooks had a second portion, and I ended up making a peanut butter sandwich about 10 minutes later. And some tortilla chips.

Would I make it again? Nay. Not even close. I will, however, be trying another one of the Grocery Bag features from Everyday Food next week, too.

WHAT SAM WORE: 02-19-10
The sweatshirt: Zip-up hoodie, on sale at Old Navy.
The shirt: University of Montana T-shirt, from Gart Bros. in Billings.
The pants: Yoga pants by Perfetto, a hand-me-down from my ex-boyfriend.
The shoes: Customized Converse All-Star slip-ons,
a birthday present from Funny Michael.
Leave a Reply

