What’s for dinner: Parmesan-Carrot Risotto

Let’s talk definitions, shall we? What is creamy? And what is impressive?

Both words were used in the description of tonight’s meal, and I couldn’t help but feel a little … cheated by both.

Cost of ingredients: $6.53. I had Parmesan left over from this night, plus rice, white wine and salt and pepper.

Substitutions: Jasmine rice instead of long-grain white rice — which the recipe is, in turn, substituting for Arborio rice. (You also can click on the photo to go to the recipe, on the Everyday Food site). This should have worked in my favor, since rice science says it has more amylopectin, the starch that gets released during cooking and makes dishes creamier, than regular long-grain white rice. However, even with this rice, the dish never really reached anything near “creamy” consistency (which I interpret as somewhat gelatinous/Cream of Wheat-y and not light like, say, pouring cream).

As easy as they said? Yes, although I realized four carrots in that grating vegetables is the sort of thing that a food processor can do quite nicely. (For some reason I saw “grate,” and I reached for the grater. It was only six carrots, but it was kind of messy.)  I also added extra Parmesan at the end, just to amp up the flavor and the consistency.

How’d THAT turn out? “Impressive” is not the word I would use. Well, actually I did, but in this construction, at the table: “So, the recipe calls this dish impressive. Do you think so? Because I don’t.” Mr. Brooks agreed: Tasty enough, yes. “And it looks hearty,” he continued. “But not impressive.”

Would I make it again? Even as I sat at the table I was considering how I would alter the recipe next time. “It would be good to try it with Arborio rice,” I mused. “And maybe some ginger, or something for a little sweet spice.” For some reason, I wasn’t loving the pepper.

WHAT SAM WORE: 02-23-10
The sweater: Merino wool vest from Gap,
another hand-me-down from my friend and neighbor James.
The shirt: Long-sleeved button-up shirt by Façonnable, from Last Chance.
The pants: Flat-front khakis from Banana Republic.
The shoes: Sneakers by Skechers, from Last Chance.
One response to “What’s for dinner: Parmesan-Carrot Risotto

  1. ok, this looks and sounds much better than my Thai Chicken Curry dish I made over the weekend. Honestly, I’m impressed! If there’s more than two steps in a recipe (puncture holes in plastic, microwave on high three minutes…) and I’m out the door eating at one of my favorite local restaurants.

Leave a Reply

