What’s for dinner: Spaghetti with Tuna, Lemon and Breadcrumbs

Click on the photo (source: Everyday Food) to be taken to the recipe, which appeared in the January 2009 issue.

All week, I told Mr. Brooks that he needed to pick up gluten-free spaghetti if he wanted me to use it in tonight’s recipe. (“If you don’t, I’m just going to cook the regular stuff.”) Last night, when I packaged up his leftovers to take to work, I told him: “Remember, this plastic container of food is much more than just a container of food: When you look at it as you bring it home, it’s going to remind you that you need to pick up gluten-free pasta. This container is fraught with meaning.”

Guess how that went.

Yeah, no gluten-free pasta. So I started prepping the ingredients (including handmade saffron linguine from Decio Pasta in Tempe) and put the pot on to boil before he realized he had to run to the store and buy it.

Cost of ingredients: $2.38. I already had everything except for the tuna and the lemons. (His gluten-free pasta cost an additional $5.)

Substitutions: The last-minute pasta switch, and that’s it.

As easy as they said? Making your own breadcrumbs — a food processor, a baking sheet — is more work than it’s worth. Buy some croutons and crush ’em.

How’d THAT go over? It was OK, nothing spectacular. You know how your mom would make a casserole and it would have tuna or hamburger, pasta, and a can of “cream of something” soup? It’s sort of like that, without the soup. And, frankly, the “cream of something” would have been a nice addition; the strident lemon/tuna flavor needs something to temper it.

Would I make it again? Maybe. If I were housebound and those were the only ingredients I had in the house. And even then, I’d look for that can of soup.

WHAT SAM WORE: 02-28-10
The sweatshirt: Oversize poly/rayon V-neck sweatshirt by Polo Sport,
a hand-me-down from my ex. (Geez, it’s at least 10 years old now.)
The shirt: “Property of Chaparral High Swimming and Diving” T-shirt,
from Buffalo Exchange.
The pants: Fleece workout pants by Puma, from Last Chance.
The shoes: Nike Shox trainers, from Last Chance.
Leave a Reply

