iTuned In: Here comes … trouble?

Five songs in my iTunes library that begin with the words “here comes”:

1. “Here Comes My Girl,” Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers. Tom Petty is one of those acts that I never think, “Man, I could use some Petty today,” but most of the time when his songs come on the radio (or my iPod, when it’s set on random), I always think, “How can you always forget how good he is?”

2. “Here Comes That Day,” Siouxsie. This track from the former leader of Siouxsie and The Banshees made my 2009 holiday disc. I had to explain who Siouxsie and The Banshees were to someone at work the other day. It made me feel older than usual, until I realized: “Hey, how come they’re familiar with Bow Wow Wow but not Siouxsie and the Banshees? It’s not an age thing, it’s a music thing.”

3. “Here Comes the Hotstepper,” Ini Kamoze. I had never seen a Robert Altman film, but Helena Christensen was on the poster for “Prêt-à-Porter” as a blonde (and Rupert Everett was in it! [back when he looked like this, not the plastic-surgery this])  so of course I was  going to see it. It made a great excuse for the four-hour drive from Grand Junction to a long weekend in Denver. By the time the movie was released the title had been changed to “Ready to Wear,” which mildly irked me, so I was all smug that I had the soundtrack with the original title. It was a classic Altman movie with all the intertwined plots, and I loved Sophia Loren and Marcello Mastrioanni’s scenes, but everything else was kind of … slow. I think I had been spoiled by the frothy “Unzipped” and expected more fashion, less plot … or more plot about fashion.

4. “Here Comes the Rain Again,” Eurythmics. Another great 1980s group.

5. “Here Comes the Sun,” The Beatles. Speaking of forgetting greatness, this gem had slipped under my radar for much too long until my friend Crystal included it on one her mix tapes back in the early Get Out days. It’s been one of my favorites since.

WHAT SAM WORE: 04-08-10
The shirt: Cotton button-down by H&M, from my first trip to Washington, D.C.
The pants: Cotton boot-cut trousers by Banana Republic.
The shoes: Black “Turnstyle” dress loafers from bananarepublic.com.
Leave a Reply

