iTuned In: Around the World

Five tracks in my iTunes library with titles that contain the word “World”:

1. “The World Should Revolve Around Me,” Little Jackie. The title track of one of my recent holiday compliation discs is by a band fronted by Imani Coppola (“Legend of a Cowgirl”). One of my friends said she really identified with the song, which I’m not sure is a good thing considering the chorus includes the line: “I’ve had a lot of failed relationships / I don’t get involved ’cause I’m not equipped.” It’s still catchy, though!

2. “All Over the World,” Electric Light Orchestra. (Stream the full track here, for you poor souls who don’t own the “Xanadu” soundtrack.) Can I say anything besides how great this summarizes the era it was made in?

3. “Come Into My World,” Kylie Minogue. So tonight I learned that Michel Gondry, who directed seven videos for Björk (including one of my favorites, “Bachelorette“) also directed the video for this song (which has strangely awful audio compared with the track on the CD). A cool “making of” video in which he explains his inspiration (and reveals the secret behind a magic trick) is here. When you view the videos for this, “Bachelorette” and Massive Attack’s “Protection” one after the other, you notice the recurring theme of … repetition, with slight differences — and the joy of prolonged single takes! (P.S.: Kylie has a new single coming out soon. Very excited.)

.

4. “Women Who Cheat on the World,” Tanita Tikaram. (30-second preview here.) I stumbled upon the “Lovers in the City” disc years after “Twist in My Sobriety” had come and gone, and fell in love with Tanita Tikaram’s low- timbre musings all over again. For some reason I can’t find a full track of “Women Who Cheat on the World” but it follows the same mood as the album’s title track — slow, serious and a little too sad to dwell on.

5. “Top of the World,” Shonen Knife. From the “If I Were a Carpenter” tribute disc. I couldn’t love this version of the song more if it gave me money. If you don’t smile when you listen to this, you are dead on the inside. DEAD.

WHAT SAM WORE: 05-11-10

The shirt: Plaid button-down from J. Crew.
The pants: Jeans by 7 for All Mankind, from Nordstrom in Chandler.
The shoes: Suede sneakers by Puma, from Last Chance.
2 responses to “iTuned In: Around the World

  1. What happened to “World Spins Madly On,” by The Weepies, from the Sam 2006 edition??

    • I figured most of the people who read these already have that disc. My Venn diagram is pretty overlapping.

Leave a Reply

