McStache contest: first checkin

Our company is sponsoring a mustache-growing competition for November — or Movember, as the movement is known. (It’s part of a fund-raiser to promote awareness about prostate cancer.) So the first Friday of the month, all participating guys showed up to work freshly shaven and had our photos taken as proof of our starting point.

I handicapped myself that weekend because I wanted to be clean-shaven in New York just in case, you know, someone caught my eye. I continued to shave on Saturday and Sunday, then started that Monday. (Thus it’s officially Day 9, but seven days of growing for me.)

Bonjour, Monsieur Skeevy.

To keep the itching on my neck to a minimum, I’ve trimmed tightly with clippers everywhere but the mustache. I’ve dubbed my resultant appearance “The Slightly Suspicious-Looking Frenchman,” and to pay homage to my new character, I took a self-portrait tonight with the closest thing to a beret I own.

I’ve noticed that at least in my department, the men have been dressing up a bit more during this time. My theory is because we look slightly bedraggled, we’re taking pains to pay attention to the other parts of our appearance, so we don’t look like people who’ve wandered in off the streets. In fact, if I had a T-shirt that said something like “I’m doing it for charity” and had an arrow pointing to a mustache, I would probably wear it every day to replace my need to explain to, say, the people at Starbucks why I look like this. (Perhaps a good alternative is the T-shirt at top from Palmer Cash, which donates $10 from each sale to the fight against prostate cancer.)

WHAT SAM WORE: 11-15-10
The shirt: Long-sleeved waffle-weave cotton/linen V-neck from Banana Republic,
over a white V-neck tee from the J. Crew outlet store in Anthem.
The pants: Khakis by Chip & Pepper, from Last Chance.
The shoes: Converse All-Star sneakers, from Nordstrom Rack.
Leave a Reply

