Being a drip and keeping quiet

I haven’t been too productive this week. All of the residents of Casa Flor are in various stages of fighting off or recuperating from colds; I believe I am the most successful of them, which I credit to the massive quantities of sleep I’ve been getting. On Monday I got home from work at 5, slept until 8, woke up Mr. Brooks for a dinner run*, and was back in bed by 9.

* Here’s how classy we roll when we’re not feeling up to par: We left the house wearing our sleep clothes, and halfway there decided to eat inside the restaurant anyway. “Eh, it’s not like I’m going to meet Mr. Right at a Wendy’s on a Monday night,” I said. “At least not this Wendy’s.” And the day before, rather than mow through a box of tissues, I just used a flour-sack dishtowel as an ersatz handkerchief.

When I couldn’t sleep, I either caught up on my magazine backlog — hello, Psychology Today and Out that I bought on New Year’s in Denver! DNA and new Harper’s Bazaar, I’ll get to you soon enough, I swear — or continued my love affair with the Kindle I got last month. The latest title I purchased is At Home: A Short History of Private Life, which dissects in interesting detail the history of items found in modern houses, from forks (why four tines?) to phones to fuse boxes. I put myself on forced hiatus — not from the book itself, but from turning the Kindle back on, because the randomly generated screen saver is a portrait of Agatha Christie, and I loved reading her books when I was in junior high. Those illustrations are amazing renderings. I’m fascinated by them.

I didn’t even log onto Facebook for days on end, partly because I was too lazy and partly because I felt bad that I had fallen behind on online Scrabble. Tyra Sanchez got me the book “How to Play Scrabble Like a Champion” as a Christmas gift, and instead of being empowering in any way, it had the opposite effect of leaving me paralyzed when trying to put down a word. Was that the absolute best use of the tiles? Sure, that H was on a triple-letter score, but shouldn’t I be saving it for a time when I could use it on a triple-letter going both ways? The days of playing words just for the sake of being able to say, “Look, I played horny!” and then laughing like a third-grader were becoming just hazy memories. It made the game no fun. So I’ve decided that I am not going to try to Play Scrabble Like a Champion; instead, I am going to continue to Play Scrabble Like I Want To.

And now, off to bed. I’m ruining my average with this almost-midnight shift.

WHAT SAM WORE: 1-20-11
The sweater: Lightweight merino wool V-neck from Uniqlo, New York.
I still haven’t put it away from more than a week ago
The shirt:I just rotate the shirts underneath it.
Cotton gingham shirt from the J. Crew outlet in Anthem.
The pants: Jeans by 7 for All Mankind, from Nordstrom in Chandler.
The shoes: Onitsuka Tigers sneakers,
also
from Nordstrom in Chandler (different trip).
2 responses to “Being a drip and keeping quiet

  1. I, too, have a love affair with my Kindle. I have read more since May ’10 (when I got it) than I have in the past 10 years combined. I just finished a WWII POW book “Unbroken” …I HIGHLY recommend it… and am now reading Seabiscuit (same author). I have to tell you, the history of fork tines does not interest me in the least!

  2. So far all I’ve read is “Half Empty” by David Rakoff and this. The Kindle is handy but I do miss the “paper sensation,” and being able to see groups of like titles and authors at once … even if my bookshelf probably thanks me. 🙂 Maybe I’ll try “Unbroken” next — but I fear instead of beimg inspired by their courage, I’ll have nightmares about their tribulations.

Leave a Reply

