30-Day Song Challenge, Day 21: A song you listen to when you’re happy

Click the photo to see Beth Ditto’s video on YouTube.

OK, we know about my happy playlist, and my angry playlist. Rather than rehash, I decided to add a new song. I  downloaded a few tracks from Beth Ditto’s solo-release EP last week and quickly decided that “I Wrote the Book” would be my new favorite song. It has the hallmarks of songs I love: It sounds perky, with a 4/4 beat, but the lyrics are about bad relationships. (The first chorus: “Revenge, regret / I wrote the book / Forgive, forget / I wrote the book / Keeping secrets / I wrote the book on it / Don’t test me.”)

I think it’s bound to enter the pantheon alongside other favorite tracks like:

  • Like a Motorway” by Saint Etienne (Opening lyrics: “She wears her jeans torn at the waistband / her pretty face is stained with tears / I know this means that he has gone.”) I prefer the original version (iTunes snippet here), but this remix is still good too.
  • Shark in the Water” by V.V. Brown (Middle eight: “Right is right / rules are rules / this is more like April Fool’s / I’m just winding you up.”)
  • Surprise (Goodbye)” by Sugababes (End of middle eight: “It’s you that’s crying tears and I like the way that feels.”)
  • Out of Control (Song 4 Mutya)” by Groove Armada with Mutya Buena (“It’s a surefire way to ruin my day / Just as soon as I’m on top on my life / there you are again.”)
  • Trust Me” (iTunes link) by Voice of the Beehive (Middle eight: “She says, ‘I will love you forever, baby you are my home!’ / But five years from now he’s alone with some kids and a car / His only warmth is from the heater / He wonders how he believed her.”)
  • I Will Be Your Girlfriend” by Dubstar (Chorus: “I will be your namesake / I will be your headache / I will be your wit’s end / I will be your girlfriend”)

I just might have to make a new playlist! Suggestions are welcome.

WHAT SAM WORE: 3-17-11
The shirt: “Muscle fit” (yes!) cotton button-up by Abercrombie & Fitch,
from the outlet store at Pentagon Mills, Va.
The pants: White jeans by 7 for All Mankind, from Last Chance.
The belt: Leather belt by Bill Adler Design, from Estilo in Austin, Texas.
The shoes: Leather trainers by Diesel, from Last Chance.
Leave a Reply

