What’s for dinner: Slow-Cooked Tex-Mex Chicken and Beans (again)

Click on the photo to go to the recipe on the Everyday Food website.

I’ve been thinking about this dish for the past few days, mostly because of the heat outside. Simmering everything in a slow-cooker sounds much more appealing than having to fire up an oven or grill.

But the recipe does require eight hours of cooking time, so this morning I headed to the grocery store for onions, peppers and other last-minute ingredients. The last time I made Slow-Cooked Tex-Mex Chicken and Beans, I swapped a yellow onion for the red onions I despise so much, but today I went red instead, thinking that the hours of simmering should temper the onion’s bite.  I’ll know more in about five hours.

But for now, the stench of red onions is permeating Casa Flor. Because the dish simmers, the onions aren’t cooking down or sweetening — just sitting there, intensifying. For some reason I thought the adobo sauce would have overpowered the onion by now, but no. Maybe I’ll burn some incense as a stopgap measure….

Cost of ingredients: $6.79. I already had flour, salsa, chicken thighs, salt and pepper. (And if I had shopped my cupboards before leaving, I would have known that I also already had the pinto beans, too, saving about $1.25.)

Substitutions: Trying to minimize the gluten aspect, in deference to Mr. Brooks’ eating habits, I halved the flour and swapped in some cornstarch.

How’d THAT go over? Results TBD. I can’t imagine that a single onion and a tablespoon of cornstarch will mar the previous results, however.

WHAT SAM WORE: 8-9-11*
The shirt: University of Montana T-shirt by UnderArmour, a gift from my sister Tammy.
The shorts: Mesh shorts by Adidas, from Sports Authority.
The shoes: Samba sneakers by Adidas, from Sports Authority.
* Yes, this is exactly what I wore yesterday, too.
Leave a Reply

