Rising, not shining

Yeah, it feels about like this … only with better sheets.

One morning a few months ago, I laid in bed for the better part of an hour trying to muster the enthusiasm required to crawl out from under the covers.

Sure, the fact it was a work day had a lot to do with it.  I love what I do, but sometimes I’m not too jazzed about how it’s done. And if I let that mindset take over, doing a good job can be a struggle — and so can just showing up to the office.

“There are lots of people out there who would love to have your job,” I told myself that morning. “There are millions of unemployed people. You should be happy you have a job at all, especially one that lets you work with words all day.” But I also recognized my words as a version of the “there are starving children in Africa” argument that parents try to get their kids to eat vegetables.

Here’s the logistical problem with that argument: It may be true, but it doesn’t make the vegetables taste any better.

Eventually I manned up and made it to my desk, of course. I chalk up mornings like that to being at a low point on what I call the “sine wave of happiness.” Everyone experiences high points and low points on the job, but it’s important to see where that sine wave lies on the X axis/”OK line.” (If the majority of your days fall below “OK,” with only sporadic forays into contentment, then it’s probably time to search for something else.)

I, meanwhile, was lucky enough to be back on the upswing a few days later. (Thanks, early sunrises!)

Leave a Reply

