The best-laid plans

Things that I said I would do:

  • Go to the gym and do a half-hour of cardio, perhaps followed by chest and triceps exercises.
  • Make my bed every day this week.
  • Buy chicken breasts at Costco and lots of healthy vegetables for dinner this week.
  • Call my mom.
  • Read “To Kill a Mockingbird.”

What I did instead:

  • Went to the gym and tanned, then left.
  • Woke up 20 minutes after a scheduled work meeting.
  • Ordered chicken fingers and a Diet Coke in the Whataburger drive-thru.
  • Watched reruns of “Don’t Trust the B—- in Apt 23” on my DVR.
  • Read “Entertainment Weekly.”
WHAT SAM WORE: 6-6-12
The shirt: Long-sleeved cotton button-down from Banana Republic,
San Tan Village (I bought it for my first day at McMurry.)
The pants: Boot-fit trousers, from the same Banana Republic store.
The shoes: Loafers by Rush Gordon Rush, from Nordstrom in Scottsdale.
2 responses to “The best-laid plans

  1. went to the gym, tanned and left……… that’s me too every other day like clockwork…. glad I’m not the only one…..

Leave a Reply

