What Sam Wrote: “Stealthy Healthy”

I’m trying to think the last time I turned on the oven.

It’s only early summer here in Phoenix and the temperatures have already settled in the triple digits. The other day I turned on the kitchen tap, and the steaming-hot H20 that greeted me was a rapid reminder that it takes a few minutes for the chilled-water supply to make it to the sink. (It doesn’t help that our water pipes run through the attic,  which is covered by a black-tiled roof.)

So the prospect of heating up the kitchen by turning on an oven, or even a cooktop, is not appealing. Heck, remember when I went to WinCo a few weeks back? Out of everything I bought, I used the rhubarb and the limes and chili peppers (for gin/vodka and tequila, respectively); froze the meats; and ate the Sour Patch Kids. Everything else languished and went bad.

So I understand if mac and cheese doesn’t sound that great right now. Or hearty meat spaghetti sauce. It’s OK. But turkey tacos sounds kind of good, don’t they? It’s amazing how much fat you save by cooking with lean turkey breast instead of beef … and if you simmer them with chipotles in adobo, you’ll kick up the flavor so much you won’t miss the fat.

And if you’re still craving something creamy, evaporated skim milk just might be your new best friend when it comes to cooking.

Me, I’m glad I don’t have to worry about it for the rest of the week. We’ve got three 111° days in the forecast this week — and those high temps usually kick in right around 4 or 5 p.m., when you’re thinking about dinner. Maybe just a nice cold salad will do …

(Click on either of the pages to bring up a full-size version in a new browser window.)

WHAT SAM WORE: 6-26-12
The shirt: Dark blue plaid Gothics Mountain flannel button-down,
on clearance for $19 at Abercrombie & Fitch online, over
a T-shirt by On The Byas, from the PacSun outlet store at Anthem.
(I’m not insane: It will block the frigid A/C I’m sitting under for most of the day.)
The pants: Dark-wash slim-fit jeans, from Lucky Brand, Chandler.
The shoes: Sneakers by Puma, my Christmas gift from Big Booty Judy.
Leave a Reply

