14 Photos, Day 1: Spider mums

SpiderMum

Yesterday at Costco, while everyone else was perusing the roses for Valentine’s Day, I grabbed a bunch of spider mums. Their intense hue is the result of dye, as I discovered this morning when some of the color had leached back into the water in the vase. I wonder what color the unadulterated blooms would be — a lighter pink, or full-on white?

Regardless, they inspired a new challenge: Every day for the next two weeks For 14 days I’m going to find and photograph something worth posting. An excuse to familiarize myself more with the point-and-shoot digital camera I bought before my trip to the Virgin Islands years ago, but got waylaid with the convenience of the iPhone … and also to pay more attention to the interesting and beautiful things that surround me.

WHAT SAM WORE: 02-10-13
shirt111911 shorts110312 shoes030611
The shirt: Long-sleeved waffle-weave T-shirt from Hollister,
Superstition Springs Center.
The shorts: Below-the-knee cargo shorts, from Uniqlo in New York.
The shoes: Sneakers by Nike, from the outlet store at Cabazon, Calif.
One response to “14 Photos, Day 1: Spider mums

  1. Way to go Sam. I can’t wait to see your photos.

Leave a Reply

