Electing not to pay attention

Tonight I’m thinking about Election Night 1996, when I happened to be on a vacation in Martinique that my brother sprang for to say, “Happy high school graduation! Happy college graduation! Happy every birthday and Christmas I missed! [Also, I want a single person to go on vacation with!]”

Anyway: Instead of working on the news desk (an Election Night rite I never enjoyed), I played volleyball, won a drinking game and didn’t pay attention to the news. When I went to bed that night, I remember thinking: “Well, if I find out that Bill Clinton won, I’ll be happy. And if I find out that Bob Dole won, at least I’ll be in Martinique for a few more days and able to shut it out.”

I should revisit that decision. It sounds just as brilliant even 20 years later.

Leave a Reply

