Keto diet, higher cholesterol

cholesterol-lipoproteins.jpeg

I’d been wondering about the ramifications of eating so much meat, cheese and fat on this keto diet, and this morning my bloodwork at the doctor revealed that my cholesterol levels have indeed increased — from a traditionally “low” reading to one that’s on the high side. (Not elevated enough for alarm or medication, but definitely an increase.)

The risk of eating like this over a long time, the doctor told me, is that cholesterol could build up in the arteries. (Which could lead to high blood pressure, clogged arteries or even a heart attack.) He didn’t demand I go off the diet immediately, but asked how long I planned to be on it, and said we’ll monitor the levels to be sure that they don’t steadily increase.

It’s been a month and a half, and I’m down about 9 pounds. On one hand, that’s pretty good … but on the other, I’ve also plateau’d and there’s been no significant weight loss over the past few weeks, and I thought this whole keto thing was supposed to lead to a more dramatic result.

As I told my friend tonight, all signs point to me having to just suck it up and do cardio. DAMMIT.

 

Leave a Reply

