30-Day Song Challenge, Day 3: A song that makes you happy.

As luck would have it, I even have an iPod queue of 117 songs titled “This playlist makes me happy.” (And that’s just from the bands whose names start with S–Z.) We have a Bose iPod player in the bathroom — a genius move, BTW — so my roommates are frequently subjected to these tracks in the a.m. while I am trying to cobble together a public-friendly mood and appearance. Because I usually just select the playlist and hit “play,” I suspect that every time they hear “Work” by The Saturdays (video distraction alert: Oh my God why can’t they stop touching their hair?), they die a little more inside.

“Method of Modern Love,” which is a little further down the list, was included on Saint Etienne’s best-of compilation CD, but never got released as a single in the United States, which I think is an awful shame. My friend Christopher in Scotland was kind enough to ship over a copy. (He grew up in Billings, too, and lived in Phoenix, but moved to Edinburgh before I ever met him! How weird is that timing?) Thanks to him, it was the lead track on my 2009 holiday disc, and I still love it today.

(Click on the CD cover to listen to the track on YouTube.)

WHAT SAM WORE: 2-12-11
The shirt: Silver Lake cotton V-neck sweater,
on clearance for $20 at Abercrombie & Fitch.
The pants: Dark-wash slim straight jeans from Lucky Brand, Chandler Fashion Center.
The shoes: Trainers by Diesel, from Last Chance.

Author: Sam Mittelsteadt

At work: Sam Mittelsteadt oversees the editing and design of a spate of industry-specific magazines for Farran Media. Previously, he was a senior content editor for custom publishing, advising and assisting print and digital clients that include a top broadcast TV network, one of the country's most popular retail stores and several major healthcare systems. And before THAT, he was a writer, editor and designer in the entertainment, lifestyle and features sections of newspapers in Montana, western Colorado and Arizona. Off the clock: He's trying to learn his third language, has a soft spot for pop music and plaid clothing, and is able to concoct a killer cocktail with whatever's handy.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.